Choice

Act One of This American Life’s episode, Slow to React is heart breaking.  This story and the last story of RadioLab’s new episode Lost and Found really gave me pause this weekend. It made me re-evaluate my own life…it reminds me never to take the things for granted.

The best things about human beings is that we are adaptable to our situation. We can chose to fixate or we can chose to let go. We have choice. As cognitive therapy teaches us, we may not  have control of what happens to us, sometimes, but we can always control how these events affect us. Success to overcome anything that life throws at us comes from inner strength. Not inner strength in the way that I have always imagined it—never breaking, never showing vulnerability, never giving up….but instead, the strength to move past difficult things, to let go of things, to forgive.

I’m not sure if I would have the courage to move on if I were in the horrific situations faced by the people of the stories mentioned above. But it makes me reflect. I understand the things that I struggle to let go of are so inconsequntial in the grander scheme of things. In the end, it’s all about choice. It’s about learning not to ask why me? But to ask how can I deal with this situation? How can I move on? How can this experience help me to grow?

These are always the right questions. If you focus on them, nothing in life can hurt you. I hope in my darkest days, when I require more strength, I will remember this.

Leave a comment

Filed under Radio

Leave a Reply

