My new year’s resolution

I’m reading The Shadow of the Wind, a book that I picked to rid me of the reading slump I’ve been in for the past two years. The plot is intriguing…secret libraries, lost books, a young boy growing up in post-war Barcelona, and villain without a face. But the writing is awful…flowery and distracting. I’m surprised that so many of my publishing friends liked this book, though I have learned that just because you work in publishing doesn’t mean that you have love or appreciation for the written word.

I want to sink into the book, like I used to do in the past. Let the words wrap me up, until I’m no longer aware that I’m sitting on my couch, where hours go by without being noticed, but instead I find myself constantly snapped out of the trance by the overly-indulgent writing…I wonder if it’s a translation problem (the original is in spanish), but I have my doubts.

I’m wracking my brain, thinking of the perfect book that will snap me out of my non-reading funk. I wonder if the age of twitter, facebook, and googling everything every couple of minutes has taken away the patience I need to focus on reading.

My new year’s resolution is simple: read and write about it every day. No matter what it is. Let’s see how far I make.

2 Comments

Filed under Books

2 responses to “My new year’s resolution

  1. MSMao

    “I wonder if the age of twitter, facebook, and googling everything every couple of minutes has taken away the patience I need to focus on reading.” <— THIS!

    I totally have the same resolution (had it last year too, but that didn't go so well; doing better this year though – already read one entire book, lol even if it was a children's book =P). Anyway, hope you keep updating this blog – it's already inspiring me to read more!

    • chuchu223

      I will Mel =)! Now that I’ve hauled some of my books back from WV, I’ll be reading more for sure. Just hope I can keep up the daily thing. I may make it a 5-time a week thing =).

Leave a Reply

